Meet your Colleagues: Edgar in Austin


Name: Edgar Torres
Site: Austin
School attending:
Texas A&M-Kingsville
Returning teacher?: Yes! I taught at the Austin site in the summer of 2006
Class(es) teaching:
Social Studies & Curtain Call (theater class)

Hi! I’m Edgar Torres, a 19 year-old college senior studying history with a social studies emphasis at Texas A&M University – Kingsville. What this means is that by the time I graduate college, I should be qualified to teach world geography, world history, U.S. history, government and economics. I taught social studies at the site in Austin and I had a BLAST! It was such a great learning experience for me considering the fact that I’ve wanted to be a teacher since I was a sophomore in high school. I am VERY excited about this summer—our training begins in about a week!This summer, I hope that I get to spend more time with my students and “advisees” so that we can focus on the necessary skills they need to succeed inside and outside of their classrooms. Each and every Breakthrough student is uniquely different and some may need more attention than others. We, as Breakthrough teachers need to make a strong effort to close the achievement gap by setting high standards for our students, but at the same time, focus on our students’ weaknesses and turn them into strengths.

At Breakthrough Austin, one of our core values is “giving back.” Breakthrough has given and has taught me so much more than I thought it would and I chose to give back to Breakthrough by being a “returning teacher”.

I hope this summer is fun for everyone, but most importantly, I hope that everyone learns something. Breakthrough is an awesome experience…you will be happy, sad, and in some instances, frustrated, but you will also laugh, smile, and cry. Keep one thing in mind though, you’re here for yourself, but more importantly, you’re here for the students.

Leave a Reply

