Inspiration

I just got this note from the great Katie Sparkes (Philly ’07):

I spent the semester abroad in Ecuador, and I really enjoyed reading the TeachBreakthroughs blog while I was there. Thanks for keeping it going!

I learned a lot while I was abroad; perhaps one of the most concrete realizations I came to was that my life’s mission is here in this country rather than in another one. I still wish to explore and adventure and hopefully expose students to a larger world than any of us can imagine, but my mission is here. Upon returning I submitted my application to return this summer.

That’s a long-winded way of saying that I rediscovered this poem the other day. It’s one of my favorites, and I share it whenever I get the chance. I’m sure you’ve seen it, but it strikes me that it might make some good blog material, that is, if summer bloggers are allowed to contribute in the off-season.

“What Teachers Make or If things don’t work out you can always go to law school”
by Taylor Mali (former teacher, current slam poet)

All the best,

Katie Sparkes


NOTE: This poem is rated PG-13 – it features a hyphenated word including the “a-word”, a compound word that roughly translates to “goshdarn”, and includes the use of a certain finger. If you find such things offensive please don’t watch this video. Taylor Mali is not connected to Breakthrough, and, while we agree with his views on the teaching profession, we do not endorse the use of cursewords or offensive hand gestures. Watch at your own risk.

Check out this Teacher Magazine article on Mali featuring Breakthrough Houston teacher Courtney Barajas.

One Response to Inspiration

  1. […] just wanted to take a second to say thanks for posting this Taylor Mali video. I’m a senior in college this year and I’ve been through the interview wringer in the […]

Leave a Reply

