Serve in India – Teacher Referral

I got a note from Sonal Singhal (Santa Fe ’04, ’06):

Hi Bobby,

I was surfing the web and I came across the TeachBreakthrough blog.  It is a great site, and I like that BT energy is being shared and spread virtually!

I noticed that you include a lot of other service opportunities on the site, and I was wondering if you could share one more.  It is a program called Indicorps (Service for the Soul, www.indicorps.org), and they offer one-year service fellowships in India for young people of Indian origin.  My inspiration to serve with Indicorps actually came from Breakthrough; Breakthrough taught me how powerful community can be, and I wanted to continue exploring that lesson.  I spent last year in Gujarat, India, working with my community to improve rural schools.  It was a great experience for me personally and professionally.   Plus, I got to teach an entire new continent of children ‘Attitude Check’!

This year Indicorps is offering 50 different projects for its August 08-July 09 cycle.  Many of them are education-driven, from organizing teacher trainings to creating puppetry curricula.  I think many of the people in the Breakthrough community might be interested–would you mind passing it on?

Again, I love the site and I look forward to seeing what you post next!

Warmly,
Sonal Singhal
BT Santa Fe (’04 and ’06)

Leave a Reply

