Meet your Colleagues: Ezra in Hong Kong

Name: Ezra Fishman
Site:
Hong Kong
Subject:
Economics
School/year:
Brandeis University, class of ’10
BT experience: Cambridge ’07

This year, I am worried about managing all the details of living and working in a foreign country. Last summer, though I was new to Breakthrough, I had the comforts of a home-stay and I had some familiarity with the city in which I was teaching. I also spoke the language and knew the culture pretty well. This summer, in Hong Kong, I will have to get used to a totally new city, language, and culture and adjust to being thousands of miles away from my friends and family. Additionally, the focus of the Hong Kong program is on English acquisition, and my students will have limited English skills coming into the summer. This new setting will provide its own set of challenges. But I have gotten a good first impression of the staff and admin team, and I think it will be a great summer!

Leave a Reply

