Meet your Colleagues: Laura in San Juan Capistrano

Site: San Juan Capistrano
Subject Teaching: 8th Grade Math
School Attending/Year: Vanderbilt University – Rising Senior

In returning to Breakthrough San Juan Capistrano for my second summer I was both excited and a little tentative. Last summer was truly the summer of my life, and I worried about the ability of the second summer to live up to my first summer’s expectations. New responsibilities, a new subject area to teach, new students – they all had a high bar set before them.

Luckily for me, even with only three days of orientation under my belt I can see this summer has the potential, the students, the teachers and staff to surpass every expectation and standard I have of Breakthrough. As our program is expanding we are becoming more diverse, more cohesive and more creative. As much as I loved 2007, Breakthrough SJC 2008 might just be the new “best summer of my life.”

Leave a Reply

