Meet your Colleagues: Christine in San Francisco (UHS)

Name: Christine
Site: San Francisco – University High School
Subject Teaching: English
School Attending/Year: Rising junior at Oberlin College

Before my first day, I was really nervous about meeting the other teachers and about planning lessons. I had done an internship at this program in January, and knew some of the teachers I am now working with, but planning classes that would serve as lessons for the students felt pressuring. While some of my anxiety is still with me, meeting with my mentor teacher and the rest of the faculty has incredibly eased my nerves. It has been comforting to be with other people who feel the same way I do, and to have people–student and mentor teachers alike–who have been repeatedly showing me support and giving me advice. Right now, as I prepare for my classes, I feel more confident knowing that I have such a supportive family of Breakthrough teachers.

Leave a Reply

