Celebration! Laura in San Juan Capistrano

All of a sudden I realized its the end of July, and our Olympics is on Friday and Celebration in just two weeks! However swiftly I felt last summer passed this summer is on a whole other level. In teaching math, I could share a number of topics we’ve been discussing, and a number of concepts which I think (hope!) the students have learned at least something about. However, I think the learning that some of my students have done this summer hasn’t been in math, and has been much more important than math. During our College Fair event on Friday I got to hear some of our students hopes and dreams for the future during discussions on what college they should go to. I heard everything from hip-hop dancer to doctor, lawyer and fashion design. Most memorable was a young man who wants nothing more than to play professional soccer, but told me that he thinks he wants a degree in sports medicine so he can be a trainer or coach after his career as a player. This kind of forethought and maturity was something I hadn’t seen in the student in the two years I’ve known him and this growth and change is exactly what helps me wake up every morning!

Leave a Reply

