What’s Next: Renee in Norfolk

My change of heart came in the middle of my sophomore year when I realized that I was not interested in law school, but rather graduate school for education. I am just beginning a year away from my home campus, Smith College, to study education at Penn and to take a few courses in the Graduate School of Education in order to feel it out before it comes time to apply next fall. We have just completed the first week of classes, and already I have made reference to my Breakthrough experience. As an undergraduate I have something in common with masters and even doctoral students who spent time in the classroom before returning to school. I have also been able to give meaning to theoretical discussions and to better analyze them for practicability. Because Penn is located in West Philadelphia, an inner city neighborhood, I also have the opportunity to continue working with inner city youth both through my classes and volunteer opportunities. For me, working with and getting to know kids is the foundation of my desire to study education, and Breakthrough certainly proved that to me this summer.

Leave a Reply

